helloworld: Service restructuring + Ruby version
authorKirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com>
Fri, 6 Nov 2015 11:40:17 +0000 (14:40 +0300)
committerKirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com>
Fri, 6 Nov 2015 11:44:51 +0000 (14:44 +0300)
commit590416af45f7d810d68c2886e126c85983a7f339
tree9d98e451cff16db9710c725649fd0e3ecb8c8771
parent20324a117524c98eb00bace2e379b4fa8c47b78f
parent31a45a94c6fe19416eadb464e488678ee79d5a53
helloworld: Service restructuring + Ruby version

For upcoming GitLab SR we need Ruby support.

We have minimal Ruby support in the form of Ruby component and
`rubygemsrecipe` recipe to install gems. However a lot of top-level
software/services in Ruby world is not released as gem and have to be
installed / worked with via Bundler[1], and for this way we do not have
an example.

Let's add such example in the form of extending helloworld SR to also
say hello to the web in both Python and Ruby via simple Ruby program
which is deployed via Bundler.

For this to happen, we need to make some preparatory changes first:

- move helloweb program(s) to own repository[2].
- modernize instance code and convert it to jinja2 to allow control structures.
- prepare instance infrastructure to support several helloweb program kinds.

and only then show how to do Ruby stuff via Bundler.

To me the effect of `software/helloworld` refactoring is good even without
Ruby part, just to improve reference material about showing how to do.

/generally-reviewed-by @jerome, @vpelletier  (on !23)
/cc @kazuhiko, @rafael, @alain.takoudjou, @cedric.leninivin

[1] http://bundler.io
[2] http://lab.nexedi.com/nexedi/helloweb